Footsteps

One night I dreamed I was walking along the beach with the Lord. Many scenes from my life flashed across the sky.

In each scene I noticed footprints in the sand. Sometimes there were two sets of footprints, other times there was one only.

This bothered me because I noticed that during the low periods of my life, when I was suffering from anguish, sorrow or defeat, I could see only one set of footprints, so I said to the Lord,
“You promised me Lord,
that if I followed you, you would walk with me always. But I have noticed that during the most trying periods of my life there has only been one set of footprints in the sand. Why, when I needed you most, have you not been there for me?”

The Lord replied, “The years when you have seen only one set of footprints, my child, is when I carried you.”

“What about the bit where it went all ziggy-zaggy and the footprints vanished into that bush?” I asked.

“That’s when I realised I could have done with a wheelbarrow, you fat lump. And what in the name of G… er, what were you carrying in that rucksack? Did you really need need that computer…”

He did go on a bit.

Silly humour aside, I love this poem. I love the idea of it. The notion that we can have someone in our lives to lean on physically, spiritually and emotionally. As an atheistic sort, I seek and receive this in a variety of places.

And still I want more…

D-day (departure day) is rapidly approaching – 3 and a half weeks – that’s quite soon, isn’t it? I have most of the things I need for wandering off – except boots and a mosquito net (you need to catch hundreds of those blighters to make it into a worthwhile meal).

I have some media interest – I’m being followed by 4 reportery-types and I have a documentary maker who will be making a piece using my filming (good luck to her there!) and her own.

I have around 40 places to stay (give or take) – kind offers from people I’ve never met and folk who I may have seen once at a party – amazing. Thank-you so much to these people and the friends who found them.I’m still looking for around 600 generous types – so, get those 6 degrees of separation working my fine friends.

I have joined the Bothie Society – a group who maintain old crofts in wilderness areas – mainly for when I’m wandering about the North West of Scotland at times when I’ve become a little bored with my tent.

I still need places to stay between Dundee and Aberdeen and Aberdeen and Inverness and, gulp, Inverness and Wick. So, if anyone knows anyone who might know someone, who once met somebody…

I spoke to the lovely people at the Cramond Brig Inn on the edge of Edinburgh yesterday. They have offered me space, for free, for my departure do between 12 and 2 on April 6th – write it down – if you can be there it would be great to see you. If you’d like to walk with me some or all the way to North Queensferry then that would be wonderful.

Til the next time.

Walk a mile

Chris

This entry was posted in mental health, Uncategorized, walking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

