20/07/11 Upside down Pyramids

Walking with lou I can’t help but be fired up with hope and optimism – a belief in a funky future. Her can do attitude is more can doey than most people I’ve met. It was her can doeyness that rattled us through 65 miles in the past 4 days.

In recent times I had a conversation with my lively brother, John. I had been stressing the fact that we are the products of our past. We were at the tiny point at the top of a huge pyramid that was our past experience.

Not so, he told me. To paraphrase, he told me to flip that pyramid over to see myself at the very small point where there lies before me endless possibilities and experiences.

This has recently got me thinking about the recent nonsenses that have gone on in this lovely country of ours. The mps expenses scandal – the bankers – Rupert Murdoch and the media nonsense – police bribery – mps being in their pockets – I’m sure there’s more, but you’ll be getting the picture.

You could try looking slightly further back to the 1953 coup of Iran where we and the US overturned a democratically elected secular government in what had been called Persia.

Look it up and be shocked and awed at what our countries did in the name of oil profits and the fear of communism.
But that’s just seeing yourself at the tip of the pyramid of experiences. It’s too easy to paralyse yourself with a “you bunch of bastards” mentality. Feelings like “it’s ridiculous” “it’s awful” only serve to polarise us.

There are times when I look back on all this, and my own life experiences and think – “why should I?” “what have they ever done for me” and the like.
I’m right, but so is John – the wonderful thing with lou is that she brings it all together in her approach to life – which is conveniently tattooed on her arm –
“What doesn’t kill me makes me stronger.”

The past, the present and the future all brought together in that simple phrase.
I can’t change the past, but I can learn from it. I can live in the present by just being. And I can be the future.

Ghandi said, “Be the change you want to see in the world.”

That about covers it.

Walk a mile

Chris

This entry was posted in mental health, Uncategorized, walking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

