07/10/12 living it Largs

I’d had a month off with the lovely Ella – sadly because of the sudden death of her Dad – it was lovely just hanging out.

However, there comes a time – and Sunday was it.

I guy called Graeme had promised to walk with me today. As I waited in the sun on the seafront I was meeted and greeted by a whole bunch of folk as they walked their dogs, pushed prams or just rambled with friends.

One chap gave me the means to buy myself a bacon roll. You can tell I’m just back – I instantly forgot his name…

Alan, with his reluctant black Scotty dog – he wasn’t reluctant about being a Scotty – he was…

Alan met me with a friendly smile and words of great encouragement. He’s connected to medical services in the forces and agreed to spread the walk a mile word.

He left hauling his dog on his bottom, smiling, “do you want to buy a dog?” as he left.

Graeme turned up, apologising for not arriving sooner because he was geographically challenged.

He is an acquaintance of a friend of a friend – I guess we can call that 3 degrees of separation.

I’ll say more about him in my next blog.

We walked from Largs to the beautiful Seamill – a quiet unspoiled part of the north Ayrshire coast.

We popped into the Merrick Hotel where I was met by the lovely Janet – the bar manager.

She listened to my story with great interest and then furnished me with a couple of beers and a packed lunch.

I asked her why – and her colleague, Dannielle, dived in saying this was part of her nature – she’s kind to everyone.

I watched people come and go in the bar it was obvious she was – she exuded generosity and folk responded to it.

As I was leaving, she told me that she’d tried to get me a bed for the night – sadly the hotel was being wound up for the winter so there was no room at the inn.

Flushed with the success of that particular blag, I tried the Hydro – an altogether more posh establishment – next door.

The kind barman gave me a shandy in return for my tale – but told me there’d be no chance of a sleepover in their lovely hotel.

That was ok – it had been a beautiful day, I’d had great company and the world had been sufficiently generous.

We said our farewells and I put my tent up next to the sea – it was dark – I had no idea of the beautiful view that awaited me in the morning.

Walk a mile

Chris

20121010-094655.jpg

This entry was posted in inequality, mental health, Uncategorized, walking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment