04/04/13 Envy

‘You can’t see green cheese’

a wonderful Scottish turn of phrase that reflects one’s desire to have what the other person’s got no matter what it is.

Just recently, my attention was drawn to Christian Nock – an ex-soldier who is walking around the whole of the UK to highlight the plight of homeless ex-servicemen. He is supported through Help for Heroes.

You can find the details of his story here –

http://www.christianaroundbritain.co.uk/

Starting in Blackpool last November, he is tanking round at a fair lick. Walking anti-clockwise, he has already reached Kent.

He has over 16 thousand followers on Facebook.

He has raised, last time I looked, over £30 thousand for his chosen charity.

I, on the other hand, have had a stumbling start to the year with a triple dip and now a phone fiasco the keystone cops would be proud to call their own.

I have around 1000 regular followers and have raised about £3000 for my chosen charities.

I’m afraid I’ve allowed myself a bit of the green eyed monster here. A bit of ‘why can’t I…?’ with just a little,’ why haven’t I got…?’

And then I realised…

‘Envy is the art of counting the other fellow’s blessings instead of your own.’ ~Harold Coffin

Pretty much sums it up…

I am hugely fortunate – for being able enough to do what I’m doing and for the amount of love, support and hospitality I’ve experienced on my way.

You can support him too,

I won’t be jealous,

Honest,

Walk a Mile

Chris

This entry was posted in economy, inequality, mental health, walking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

